According to the Nebraska State Law, all children 8 years of age or younger must be secured properly in a federally-approved child safety seat in the back seat.
The new Nebraska laws were effective January 1, 2019.
What is the car seat law in Nebraska?
Nebraska Rear-Facing Car Seat Laws
The regulations in Nebraska law section 60-6,267 (1) require a child to ride in the rear-facing seats until they are 2 years old or until they reach the upper weight or height limit allowed by the car seat’s manufacturer.
It’s also a good idea to keep using the rear-facing car seats as long as possible.
To meet the rules for Nebraska, you probably need a convertible or all-in-one car seat. These two car seat types come with higher height and weight limits, allowing a child to ride facing the back for a longer time.
Nebraska Forward Facing Car Seat Laws
When can a baby be forward-facing in Nebraska?
The Nebraska laws do not say anything about when can a child face forward. However, most laws in other States and experts recommend using forward-facing seats after your child reaches the highest weight or height for rear-facing seats.
It’s the best practice to stick to the forward-facing car seat with a 5-point harness until your child is ready for the next stage – booster.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Nebraska
What is the booster seat law in Nebraska?
According to Nebraska law, children under 8 years old must ride in a proper restraint system including a booster, once they outgrow the forward-facing car seats.
Children who are older than 8 years of age can also keep traveling in a booster seat as long as they are within the maximum weight or height of the booster seat.
By this rule, a child may stay in a booster until they are 10-12 years of age, as most booster seats sold on the US market are designed with a weight range between 100-120 pounds and a height range between 57-63 inches in height.
Seat Belt Laws for Child in Nebraska
The Nebraska law says that children ages 8 to 18 must be secured in a safety belt or child safety seat (booster seat) depending on the child’s weight and height.
It’s best to stick to a booster seat for as long as the child reaches the weight or height limit allowed by the car seat manufacturer or when the child is large enough and the seat belt can fit them correctly.
These five questions may help you to decide whether the vehicle seat belt fits your child properly or not.
- 1. Can your child sit all the way back against the auto seat?
- 2. Do your child’s knees bend with ease at the edge of the seat without slouching?
- 3. Does the lap belt fit snugly across the top of the thighs, not upon the tummy?
- 4. Does the shoulder belt come across the center of the shoulder and chest?
- 5. Can your child sit like this for the whole trip?
If your answers are yes to all five questions, it means your child is large enough to travel with the vehicle’s seat belt in the car.
Penalty for Breaking Car Seat Laws in Nebraska
Violators who do not obey the Nebraska laws will receive a fine of up to $25, plus court cost and 1 point assessed against the operator’s driving record.
The law does not tell this punishment, but you can find this regulation in the statement of the Nebraska Department of Transportation.
Nebraska Car Seat Laws Apply for
The driver is responsible for securing the child properly in both a car seat and a seat belt.
The exceptions are listed in sections 60-6,267 (3), (4), and (5) with the below rules:
1) Taxicabs, mopeds, motorcycles, and any motor vehicles designated by the manufacturer as a 1963 year model or earlier which is not equipped with an occupant protection system.
2) A child can not use a child restraint for physical or medical reasons. The driver or legal guardian is required to prove this with a signed written statement.
3) The motor vehicle is operated in a parade or exhibition.
When can a child sit in the front seat in Nebraska?
Nebraska law says that all children under the age of 8 must travel in the back seat if the back seat is available and not occupied by other children under 8 years old.
The law also recommends placing a child 12 years or younger in the back seat.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Nebraska
Taxis are exempt from the rules in Nebraska child car seat laws, according to sections 60-6,267 (3).
Age, Weight, Height Requirements in Nebraska Law
The Nebraska laws talk much about the age requirement, no weight or height mentioned in the law, not even the full list of four car seat stages.
2 years of age or younger: Ride in a rear-facing car seat
8 years old or younger: Must be secured in a child safety seat, in the back seat
Ages 8 to 18:Use a safety belt or booster seat
Under 18 years old: Not allowed in cargo areas
Best Car Seats to Work with Nebraska Laws
Rear-Facing for for 2 Years or Older
Chicco NextFit Zip
This convertible car seat is great enough to meet the parent’s need to ride their kids in the rear- and front-facing for a longer time. It features 50-lb rear-facing weight limit to be one of the best rear-facing car seats for 2 years old.
When using it facing front, the 65-lb weight limit makes it go through the preschool ages – 3 years old, 4 years old, and 5 years old.
Booster Seats for Big Kids
Graco TurboBooster Backless Booster
The Graco TurboBooster is the most popular and best budget car seat to meet the Nebraska State Law to ride older children, six or seven years old, or even bigger.
But for parents in Nebraska, you may keep your kid in a car seat as long as possible for safety’s sake.
- Nebraska Legislature on child restraint system.
- Nebraska Department of Transportation on child passenger safety.
- State Patrol to follow Nebraska State Law.