According to Utah State Law, children under 8 years of age should be secured in an appropriate child restraint device until they are big enough to use a safety belt between ages 8 and 16.
What is the car seat law in Utah?
Utah Forward Facing Car Seat Laws
Utah laws do not mention the age, weight, or height requirements on the forward-facing car seats, just say that all children under eight years of age must ride in an approved child restraint system until they grow over 4 feet 9 inches tall.
It’s best to follow the rules of AAP and NHTSA and the manufacturer’s instructions to safely ride your child in the car.
The rules from Highway Safety of Utah State make it clear that children should ride in a forward-facing car with a harness until they are at least 4 years of age and 40 pounds in weight.
This department also indicates the regulation to keep using the forward-facing for as long as possible for the next car seat stage.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Utah
Utah law says nothing about booster seats, just requires a child to be properly secured in a child restraint device or by a safety belt under 12 years old.
According to the regulations from the Highway Safety Department of Utah, a child who is at least 4 years of age and weighs 40 pounds or more can use a booster seat until he or she outgrows the height or weight limit set by the manufacturer.
Seat Belt Laws for Child in Utah
Utah law says that children between 8 to 12 years old must be properly restrained in either an appropriate child restraint device or by a safety belt.
Once your child outgrows the booster seat, typically around the age of 10~12 years, they’re large enough to wear a seat belt like an adult.
Penalty for Breaking Car Seat Laws in Utah
Not following the Utah State Child Safety Law may be fined up to $45
Utah Car Seat Laws Apply for
It’s the driver’s responsibility to enforcement of the rule for any passenger up to 16 years old.
The law does not apply to school buses, and vehicles manufactured without safety belts.
When can a child sit in the front seat in Utah?
According to the state law of Utah, your child should keep using the back seat until they are 13.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Utah
Age, Weight, Height Requirements in Utah Law
The Utah laws do not have detailed requirements on the age, weight, or height of a child in the car seat for the different four stages. The Utah State Laws only state below age, weight, and height requirements.
- All children under 8 years old riding in a vehicle must be properly secured in an approved child safety seat unless they are at least 4 feet 9 inches tall.
- Children between 8 to 12 years old must be properly restrained in either an appropriate child restraint device or by a safety belt.
- Everyone 16 years old or older riding inside a vehicle must wear a safety belt if there are seat belts available.
What you Need to Know – Four Car Seat Stages
Best Car Seats to Work with Utah Laws
Based on the Utah child car seat laws, here are the best car seats that will ride your boys or girls safely without breaking the rules.
To help parents quickly find the best option based on your child’s current age, this list is made by age.
Birth - 2 Years
30-lb rear-facing maximum weight
35-lb rear-facing maximum weight
40-lb rear-facing maximum weight
50-lb rear-facing maximum weight
Birth - 4 Years
65-lb forward-facing maximum weight
49-inch forward-facing maximum height
100-lb booster maximum weight
120-lb booster maximum weight
57-in booster maximum height
63-in booster maximum height
- Best to Fit 3 Across – Diono Radian 3R
- Best with backless booster – Graco 4Ever DLX
The Diono Cambria 2 XL combines a highback and backless booster into one. It provides spacious room for growing big kids.
Diono Cambria 2 XL
Car Seats with Unique Functions
Car seat with 5-point harness
- Britax One4Life (120 lbs/ 63”)