Arkansas Car Seat Laws (2022) – Booster and Front Seat Rules

Want to know the new Arkansas car seat laws in 2022? You’re here in the right place.

According to the Arkansas State Law, a child under six years old and less than sixty pounds should be secured in a child passenger restraint system that meets applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards.

Older children at least 6 years of age or weighing 60 pounds or more can use a seat belt until they are 15 years old.

The AR car seat laws were amended and effective in 2013. 

That’s a brief introduction to Arkansas child seat laws. Here in this guide for Arkansas car seat laws, we try to provide as many details as possible to explain the Arkansas child safety seat laws on booster seat age and height requirements, rear-facing and forward-facing rules, and when a child can sit in the front seat in Arkansas

Overview of Car Seat Laws Arkansas

The Arkansas Legislature Law Section No. 224, § 1. 27-34-104 (a) reads: "Every driver who transports a child under fifteen (15) years of age in a [...] shall provide [...] the protection of the child by properly placing, maintaining, and securing the child in a child passenger restraint system properly secured to the vehicle and meeting applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards in effect on January 1, 1995."

Arkansas State Regulations

The AR child seat laws go into three car seat stages – rear-facing, forward-facing, and booster. So we also talk about car seat laws in these three categories.

Can’t wait to know the Arkansas booster seat laws? Just click the booster field below.

Rear-Facing

Arkansas Rear-facing Car Seat Laws

Forward-Facing

Arkansas Forward facing Car Seat Rules

Booster

Arkansas Booster Seat Laws

Arkansas Car Seat Laws Rear-Facing

Arkansas law does not mention the guidelines of age or height and weight on riding a child in a rear-facing position, but it provides us with the baseline safety rule in section 27-34-104 (b): 

“A child who is less than six (6) years of age and who weighs less than sixty pounds (60 lbs) shall be restrained in a child passenger safety seat properly secured to the vehicle.”

Arkansas Laws

This rule applies to travel with a child not only rear-facing but also front-facing, even though the third stage of booster.

For the states that do not give regulations on rear-facing car seats, we DO recommend parents to follow the NHTSA guidelines – keep an infant and toddler in a rear-facing car seat until they’re 2 years old.

Rules Allowed

Rear-Facing: 1 year old

Safest Practice

Rear-Facing: 2 years old

BEST REAR-FACING CAR SEAT

RF: 4-50 lbs/ 49″

Graco Extend2Fit

$234.99

RF: 4-35 lbs/ 32″

Graco SnugRide SnugLock 35 Infant Car Seat
Graco SnugRide SnugLock

$159.99

RF: 4-35 lbs/ 32″

Best for Travel

Doona Infant Car Seat and Stroller
Doona Infant Car Seat Stroller

$550

Arkansas Forward Facing Car Seat Laws

As mentioned above, the AR car seat laws do not specify rear-facing, forward-facing, or even booster, but give a common saying to put a child in an appropriate child safety seat before their sixth birthday with less than six pounds weight.

Based on the experts’ recommendations, it’s better to keep your child facing the rear as long as possible, then switch to a forward-facing car seat after reaching the limit.

Different car seat types vary in rear-facing height and weight limits.

Infant-only car seats allow for a 35 or less weight limit and a 32-inch or less height limit, meaning that your child may need a forward-facing car seat around 12 months or 18 months.

Convertible and all-in-one car seats have higher height and weight limits, letting your child stay facing the back for a longer time. Graco Extend2Fit and Chicco NextFit Zip are good examples.

Arkansas Rules Allowed

Minimum Requirements

  • Age: 1 year old
  • Weight: Not required
  • Height: Now required

Maximum Requirements

  • Age: Not required
  • Weight: Not required
  • Height: Now required

Best Practice

Minimum Requirements

  • Age: 2 years old
  • Weight: 30-40 pounds
  • Height: 35-40 inches

Maximum Requirements

  • Age: Not required
  • Weight: 65 pounds
  • Height: 49 inches
BEST FORWARD-FACING CAR SEAT

FF: 22-65 lbs/ 49″

Graco Extend2Fit

$234.99

FF: 22-65 lbs/ 49″

Graco SlimFit LX 3-in-1 Car Seat
Graco SlimFit

$219.99

Arkansas Booster Seat Laws

Arkansas law does not specify the requirements for securing a child in a booster seat, but just as said above, it only requires a child under six years of age and under 60 pounds to be secured in child restraint systems.

The child safety experts recommend using a booster seat after your child outgrows their forward-facing car seats.

Most forward-facing car seats support a common weight limit of 65 pounds and a height limit of 49-inches.

This generally happens around age 5-7.

What are the backless booster seat laws Arkansas?

It should be included in the booster seat laws. That means, a child under 6 years old or less than sixty pounds can use a backless booster seat as well.

Arkansas Rules Allow

Minimum Requirements

  • Age: Not required
  • Weight: Not required
  • Height: Now required

Maximum Requirements

  • Age: 6 years old
  • Weight: 60 pounds
  • Height: Not required

Best Practice

Minimum Requirements

  • Age: 4 years old
  • Weight: 40 pounds
  • Height: 40 inches

Maximum Requirements

  • Age: 8 years old
  • Weight: 100 pounds
  • Height: 57 inches
BEST BOOSTER SEAT

Booster: 40-100 lbs/ 57″

Graco TurboBooster

$29.99

Booster: 40-100 lbs/ 57″

Chicco GoFit Plus Backless Booster
Chicco GoFit Plus

$59.99

Booster: 40-100 lbs/ 57″

Graco Atlas 65 2-in-1 Harness Booster Seat
Graco Atlas Harness Booster

$139.99

Arkansas Seat Belt Laws for Child

According to Arkansas regulation in section § 1. 27-34-104 (c), the law requires a child to be properly secured with a safety belt if they are at least six (6) years of age or at least sixty pounds (60 lbs.) in weight.

The seat belt should be used under the car manufacturer’s instructions.

It is always a good idea to make sure that the car’s seat belt fit is safe. Even if your child is older, you can still use booster seats until the car’s seat belt is a snuggly fit.

Penalty for Breaking Car Seat Laws in Arkansas

In Arkansas, any person who violates the car seat laws shall be fined not less than twenty-five dollars ($25.00) nor more than one hundred dollars ($100), depending on the severity of the violation and the frequency of the offense.

Arkansas Car Seat Laws Apply for

The Arkansas law applies to all drivers in the state, with the following exceptions that are not the drivers’ responsibility:

Exceptions

Certain vehicles are exempt from these child restraint requirements. Emergency vehicles (or vehicles used during emergencies) are exempt as are for-hire vehicles like taxis and school buses.

When can a child sit in the front seat Arkansas

There are no AR laws against children sitting in the front seat in effect.

It is safest for children to sit in the back seats as long as possible until they’re 13 years old, which is the suggested age from experts to sit in the front seat in a car.

Warm Safety Tips

Thirteen should be the most recommended age to place a child in front seat, even the Arkansas laws do not require that.

Legal Age to Sit in the Front Seat

Not mention

Recommended Age to Sit in the Front Seat

at least 12 years old

How much do babies have to weigh to face forward in Arkansas?

The AR car law does not say about the weight requirement for a child to face forward, but it’s recommended to put your child in rear-facing as long as possible until they outgrow the weight or height limit allowed by the car seat manufacturer.​

Typically, the weight limit for rear-facing only infant car seats is between 30-35 pounds. While the weight limit for convertible or all-in-one car seats may be higher, around 40-50 pounds.

Arkansas Car Seat Laws on Taxi

As mentioned above in exceptional cases, taxis are exempt from AR car seat laws but they have to give enough time to install one if you have your own seat.

Age, Weight, Height Requirements in Arkansas Law

There are no such requirements on a child’s age, weight, or height. The Arkansas law only says about the age of six and weight of sixty pounds.

No mention of rear-facing, forward-facing, or booster, this makes the car seat law in Arkansas seem relatively not that strict.

At this time, it’s better for parents to combine this law with the experts’ advice from NHTSA (National Highway Transportation ) and AAP:

  • Keep a child in a rear-facing car seat until they are two years old and stay in this position as long as possible.
  • Stick to a forward-facing car seat with a 5-point harness before a child exceeds the weight or height limit allowed by the car seat manufacturer, better before 8 years old.
  • Place a child in the back seat before his or her 13th birthday.

Best Car Seats for Travel in Arkansas

What types of car seats can meet the AR car seat laws? Check our recommended listed below for different needs, but each combo works well to fit your child from birth to youth, until they don’t need a booster but just like an adult to be secured with a seat belt.

Birth - 2 Years

30-lb rear-facing maximum weight

Further Information

Best Car Seats for One Year Old

Birth - 4 Years

4-8 Years

  • Best to Fit 3 Across – Diono Radian 3R
  • Best with backless booster – Graco 4Ever DLX

All 50 US States Car Seat Laws

FAQs on Arkansas Car Seat Laws

What is the law for car seats in Arkansas?

According to the Arkansas child seat laws:

A child who is less than six (6) years of age and who weighs less than sixty pounds (60 lbs.) shall be restrained in a child passenger safety seat properly secured to the vehicle.

The Arkansas car seat laws also require that all children under fifteen years of age be properly secured in the vehicle. 

What is the weight limit for a booster seat in Arkansas?

Arkansas state law requires all children under 15 to be properly secured with a child passenger restraint system in a vehicle.

Children under six and weighing less than 60 pounds must ride in a child safety seat.

The safety seat belt can be legally used for a child who is at least six (6) years of age or at least sixty pounds (60 lbs.) in weight.

That means the weight limit for a booster seat in Arkansas is 60 pounds

When can my child use a booster seat in Arkansas?

Arkansas car seat laws only require that children up to 6 years of age or 60 pounds must be properly restrained in a child safety seat, not stating any age or weight requirements on when a child can use a booster seat in this state.

If so, it’s strongly recommended to follow the NHTSA’s suggestion: use a booster seat for kids at least 4 years old. However, the safest practice is that children remain in a car seat with a 5-point harness for as long as possible until they reach the harness weight or height limit. Then use a belt-positioning booster seat until 8 years old (unless they are 4’9″ tall). 

How old do you have to be to ride in the front seat in Arkansas?

The Arkansas child seat laws are not clear on the age requirement for a child to sit in the front seat

The safest practice is to ride your boy or girl in the front seat after their 13th birthday.

Does 7 years old need a car seat in Arkansas (AR)?

No.

According to the Arkansas child seat laws, 7 year old kids do not need a car seat but must wear seat belts.

How much is a no car seat ticket in Arkansas?

Failure to follow the Arkansas car seat laws to properly restrain a child will result in a $25 to $100 ticket. 

Can a 4 year old sit in a booster seat in Arkansas?

A 4 year old kid can legally sit in a booster seat in Arkansas. But it’s better to keep a child in a 5-point harness for as long as possible until they hit the 65-pound weight limit or 49-inch height limit.

Arkansas car seat laws require:

  • All children under 15 are to be properly secured in a vehicle.
  • Children under six and weighing less than 60 pounds must ride in a car seat.

No rule on booster seats, but you can follow the NHTSA’s suggestions: use a booster seat for children aged 4 or older and under 57″. 

 

Sources