According to the Alaska State Law, children under 16 years of age should ride in a child safety device that meets or exceeds the standards of the United States Department of Transportation and is used in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions.
What is the Car Seat Law in Alaska?
Alaska Car Seat Laws Rear-Facing
According to the regulations in Alaska Legislature Law Sec. 28.05.095. (b) (1), a child must ride in a rear-facing car seat when they are
- 1) less than 12 months, or;
- 2) one year of age or older but less than 20 pounds
As long as your child falls into one of the listed age and height requirements, you should secure them with a rear-facing car seat.
The rear-facing car seat should meet or exceed the standards of the United States Department of Transportation. Parents can breathe a sigh of relief as all the car seats sold in the United States should obey this rule.
The rear-facing car seat must be installed and used under the manufacturer’s instructions.
Alaska Forward Facing Car Seat Laws
The Alaska legislature laws do not mention forward-facing car seat requirements but in Sec. 28.05.095. (b)(2), the rule requires a child to be secured in an appropriate child restraint device when they:
- 1) Age at least 12 months but less than 5 years old
- 2) weigh at least 20 pounds
Interpreting regulations Sec. 28.05.095. (b) (2) and (3) that talk about booster seat requirements, this rule should be applied for forward-facing car seats.
What is The Law for Booster Seats in Alaska?
By law in Alaska Legislature Sec. 28.05.095. (b) (3), children are required to be secured in a booster seat if they are :
- 1) Over 4 years and less than 8 years of age
- 2) Under 57 inches (4’9″ ) in height
- 3) Over 20 pounds but less than 65 lbs
The booster seat should be secured with a seat belt system.
The law indicates that a child restraint device can be also used when the child falls into above age, weight, or height ranges.
If so, it’s strongly recommended to keep using the forward-facing car seat for as long as possible until they outgrow the height or weight limit set by the manufacturer.
According to the rule in Sec. 28.05.095. (b) (5), if the child is less than 4 feet 9 inches in height and weighs less than 65 pounds, they must ride in a child safety seat or a booster seat, no matter of the age, even they are 8 years or older.
Seat Belt Laws for Child in Alaska
The regulations in Sec. 28.05.095. (b) (3) and (4) reveals that a child shall be properly secured if they meet all the three age, weight, and height requirements below:
1) over 4 years of age
2) at least 57 inches in height
3) at least 65 pounds in weight
For a safe fit, the seat belt has to lie snugly across the upper thighs, not the stomach.
Penalty for Breaking Car Seat Laws in Alaska
Any person who fails to obey this law will be fined up to $50. The Alaska State Law also requires the violating person to submit proof of acquisition of a child safety device within 30 days.
Alaska Car Seat Laws Apply for
All residents or travelers in Alaska should follow the Law to travel with a child in a motor vehicle.
School bus, emergency vehicles, drivers to deliver mail or newspapers,
When can a child sit in the front seat in Alaska?
In Alaska, there is no age requirement mentioned in law when a child can sit in the front seat.
In this case, you may follow the experts’ recommendation to put your child in the front seat when the car seat belt fits them safely.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Alaska
The Alaska Child Passenger Safety Law does not state any requirements on the taxicab. It’s recommended for taxi drivers to follow the rules.
Age, Weight, Height Requirements in Alaska Law
Rear-facing (stage 1): one-year-old or less than 20 pounds
Forward-facing (stage 2): one to five years old and over 20 pounds
Booster (stage 3): four to eight years old, under 57 inches in height, and between 20 – 65 pounds
Seat belt: eight to 16 years old
What you Need to Know – Four Car Seat Stages
Best Car Seats to Work with Alaska Laws
Rear-Facing Car Seat for Infants and Small Toddlers
More than this Doona car seat and stroller combo, there are a few excellent options available for riding infants in rear-facing. But not all will perform as well as it to allow 1-year-old infants to face the back for this long time, Chicco KeyFit 30 for example, features a low 30-lb weight limit that might not go through the first year.
Forward-Facing for Big Toddlers and Preschoolers
This convertible car seat is great enough to meet the parent’s need to ride their kids in the rear- and front-facing for a longer time. It features 50-lb rear-facing weight limit to be one of the best rear-facing car seats for 2 years old.
Booster Seats for Big Kids
Graco TurboBooster Backless Booster
The Graco TurboBooster is the most popular and best budget car seat to meet the State Law to ride older children, six or seven years old, or even bigger. While six years of age is relatively younger than other states’ eight years of age requirement, it’s sooner for Alabama children to get rid of a car seat.