According to the Oklahoma State Law, all children under 4 years old and less than 60 pounds should be secured in a child restraint system.
What is the car seat law in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma Rear-Facing Car Seat Laws
The Oklahoma law says that infants and toddlers must travel in a rear-facing car seat until they are 2 years of age.
The best practice is to keep using a rear-facing car seat as long as possible until the child exceeds the weight or height limit set by the manufacturer.
The rear-facing position is safest for small children.
Oklahoma Forward Facing Car Seat Laws
Children under age 4, according to Oklahoma law, should be secured in a child safety car seat with a 5-point harness.
They can use a forward-facing car seat after outgrowing the rear-facing car seat.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Oklahoma
By Oklahoma law, children at least 4 years old should ride in a booster seat until they are 8 years of age or 4 feet 9 inches in height or taller.
A booster seat should be used as long as possible until the child can fit the vehicle seat belt properly.
Seat Belt Laws for Child in Oklahoma
Oklahoma law requires all children at least 4 feet 9 inches or at least 8 years old to be restrained in a seat belt.
Penalty for Breaking Car Seat Laws in Oklahoma
Violating this law that does not secure a child properly will receive a fine of up to $50. Plus the court cost, the penalty can be reached up to $207.9.
Oklahoma Car Seat Laws Apply for
When can a child sit in the front seat in Oklahoma?
When can a child face forward in a car seat in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma law doesn’t have any age requirements for a child to sit in the front seat. However, it suggests keeping your child in the back seat until they are 13 years or older. The law also considered the back seat is the safest position for a child to travel in the car.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Oklahoma
Taxis are not required to follow the Oklahoma law, but the parents are responsible for their children’s safety in a taxi.
Age, Weight, Height Requirements in Oklahoma Law
- Rear-facing ( stage 1): birth to 2 years old
- Forward-facing (stage 2): 2-4 years of age
- Booster (stage 3): 4-8 years of age, under 4’9”
- Seat belt (stage 4): 8 years or older, or taller than 4 feet 9 inches
You may have found that there are no weight requirements in the Oklahoma child passenger safety law. Weight is not the deciding factor for purchasing a car seat, but you should always make sure your child is within the weight limit of their car seats.
What you Need to Know – Four Car Seat Stages
Best Car Seats to Work with Oklahoma Laws
Rear-Facing for 2 Years or Older
Chicco NextFit Zip
This convertible car seat is great enough to meet the parent’s need to ride their kids in the rear- and front-facing for a longer time. It features 50-lb rear-facing weight limit to be one of the best rear-facing car seats for 2 years old.
Booster Seats for Big Kids
Graco TurboBooster Backless Booster
The Graco TurboBooster is the most popular and best budget car seat to meet the Okalahoma State Law to ride older children, six or seven years old, or even bigger.