According to the Mississippi State Law, children who are younger than 7 years of age, weighing less than 65 pounds, and measuring less than 57 inches in height should be secured in a safety restraint device or a belt-positioning booster seat system.
That’s the overview of the age, weight, or height requirements for a child using a car seat. The laws provide more details. Let’s check what the Mississippi car seat laws say on what you need to know to ride a child in this State.
What is the car seat law in Mississippi?
Mississippi Rear-Facing Car Seat Laws
The Mississippi law doesn’t s specifically mention the usage of the rear-facing car seat but only requires children under 4 years of age to ride in a child passenger safety device or system in Section 63-7-301 (1) (a).
The Mississippi State Department of Health implements the rules on rear-facing positions – infants and toddlers should travel in a rear-facing car seat until 2 years of age or they reach the weight or height limit set by the manufacturer.
The regulations from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and the American Academy of Pediatrics also suggest riding infants and toddlers in rear-facing for as long as possible, at least until the second birthday.
Mississippi Forward Facing Car Seat Laws
When can a child face forward in Mississippi?
The law does not say any age or weight requirement on forward-facing car seats.
However, it’s a common rule that the children should be secured in forward-facing car seats once the child outgrows the rear-facing car seat.
Interpreting the rules in Mississippi Legislature section 63-7-301 (1) (a) and (b), the forward-facing car seat can be used before the child is 4 years old.
But it’s not the safest practice.
The Mississippi State Department of Health recommends using a forward-facing car seat with a harness for toddlers and preschoolers when they’re within the highest weight or height limit of their forward-facing car seats.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Mississippi
How old do you have to be for a booster seat in Mississippi?
The Mississippi law in section 63-7-301 (1) (b) says that belt-positioning booster seats should be used if the child meets the below age, weight, and height rules:
- age 4 years or older but younger than 7 years old (age)
- less than 4 feet 9 inches tall (height)
- less than 65 pounds in weight (weight)
The Mississippi Department of Health states in its regulations that a booster seat should be used before the seat belt fits the child properly in size.
It’s best to keep your child in a high back or backless booster seat for as long as possible until he or she outgrows the booster seat.
Most booster seats on the market feature a weight limit between 100-120 pounds and a height limit between 57″-63″.
Seat Belt Laws for Child in Mississippi
The child seat belt law in Mississippi Legislature section 63-2-1 makes it clear that children under 18 years of age must ride with a properly fastened seat belt system.
The seat belt should be manufactured meeting the federal motor vehicle standard 208 and installed in the vehicle following the manufacturer’s instructions
Combining these regulations in section 63-2-1 on the seat belt and 63-7-301 (1) (b) on the child booster seat, it is supposed that a child can get out of a booster seat and start to wear a safety belt if they meet or exceed the listed age, weight, and height requirements in the following:
1) 7 years of age or older
2) 4 feet 9 inches or taller
3) 65 pounds or heavier
The Mississippi State Department of Health provides a few safety tips on seat belt usage.
Only when a child is old enough and large enough with the seat belt to fit them correctly, he or she shall ride with the vehicle’s seat belt system for security like an adult.
It’s best to use lap and shoulder seat belts for optimal protection if it’s possible.
Penalty for Breaking Car Seat Laws in Mississippi
The Mississippi law makes it clear in section § 63-7-309 that violators who do not secure a child properly will receive a fine of $25.
Mississippi Car Seat Laws Apply for
When can a child sit in the front seat in Mississippi?
Mississippi law doesn’t mention any age requirement when your child can sit in the front seat.
The State Department of Health gives safe seating tips and it’s better to keep children under age 13 in the back seat.
That means a child should be at least 13 years old to sit in the front passenger seat in Mississippi.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Mississippi
Child Restraint Laws in Mississippi are unclear whether taxis are supposed to follow these laws.
Age, Weight, Height Requirements in Mississippi Law
The Mississippi laws are not strict on car seat age, weight, and height requirements. Only emphasize much on booster seats.
under 4 years of age
Use a child restraint system or device
Booster (stage 3):
at least 4 but less than 7 years old, less than 4 feet 9 inches, less than 65 pounds
Seat belt (stage 4):
7 years and older who either weigh 65 pounds or more or who are 57 inches or taller
Best Car Seats to Work with Mississippi Laws
Rear-Facing Car Seat for Infants and Small Toddlers
More than this Doona car seat and stroller combo, there are a few excellent options available for riding infants in rear-facing. But not all will perform as well as it to allow 1-year-old infants to face the back for this long time, Chicco KeyFit 30 for example, features a low 30-lb weight limit that might not go through the first year.
Forward-Facing for Big Toddlers and Preschoolers
This convertible car seat is great enough to meet the parent’s need to ride their kids in the rear- and front-facing for a longer time. It features 50-lb rear-facing weight limit to be one of the best rear-facing car seats for 2 years old.
Booster Seats for Big Kids
Graco TurboBooster Backless Booster