What is the car seat law in West Virginia?
West Virginia Forward Facing Car Seat Laws
The West Virginia law states that a child under eight years of age should be secured in a child restrained system. No comments on the forward-facing car seats.
If so, it’s recommended to ride a child in a harnessed forward-facing car seat as long as possible before they exceed the weight or height limit allowed by the car seat manufacturer.
Child Booster Seat Laws in West Virginia
What are the height and weight requirements for a booster seat in WV?
The West Virginia law does not say anything about the height and weight requirements for a child in the booster, it only requires the child under eight years of age to be secured in a child restraint system federally approved to meet the safety standards.
Then the best practices might be to follow the expert’s suggestions to use a booster after they outgrow their forward-facing car seats, which happens around six or seven years of age.
Seat Belt Laws for Child in West Virginia
The West Virginia law requires children under 18 years of age to be restrained by a safety belt meeting applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards.
Penalty for Breaking Car Seat Laws in West Virginia
Violating these rules in West Virginia that not secure a child properly will receive a fine of not less than $10 nor more than $20.
West Virginia Car Seat Laws Apply for
The driver is responsible for securing a child properly in the car.
The drivers may not be considered in violation of the WV law:
1) If all seat belts in a vehicle are being used at the time of examination by a law officer.
2) If the vehicle contains more passengers than the total number of seat belts or other safety devices as installed in compliance with federal motor vehicle safety standards.
When can a child sit in the front seat of a car in West Virginia?
No age requirement is mentioned in the West Virginia law when can your child sit in the front seat.
At this point, it’s recommended to follow the American Academy of Pediatrics, put your child sit in the back seat until they are 13.
Taxi Car Seat Law in West Virginia
The West Virginia state law doesn’t mention whether taxis are exempt from these child restraints laws.
Age, Weight, Height Requirements in West Virginia Law
The law in West Virginia does not mention the age and weight requirements for different car seats stage and types. According to the law, the child has to be restrained in a child passenger safety device system that is appropriate for the age.
There is no hard number to figure out which seat is required for a particular child at his or her age. You need to refer to car seat instructions to understand the age and weight requirements for each seat.
8 years old and 4 feet 8 inches are the only two age and height requirements mentioned in the West Virginia law.
Best Car Seats to Work with West Virginia Laws
Rear-Facing Car Seat for Infants and Small Toddlers
More than this Doona car seat and stroller combo, there are a few excellent options available for riding infants in rear-facing. But not all will perform as well as it to allow 1-year-old infants to face the back for this long time, Chicco KeyFit 30 for example, features a low 30-lb weight limit that might not go through the first year.
Forward-Facing for Big Toddlers and Preschoolers
This convertible car seat is great enough to meet the parent’s need to ride their kids in the rear- and front-facing for a longer time. It features 50-lb rear-facing weight limit to be one of the best rear-facing car seats for 2 years old.
Booster Seats for Big Kids
Graco TurboBooster Backless Booster
The Graco TurboBooster is the most popular and best budget car seat to meet the law to ride older children, six or seven years old, or even bigger.