According to the Idaho State Law, children age 6 or younger should ride in a child restraint in accordance with the federal motor vehicle safety regulations.
What is the Car Seat Law in Idaho?
Idaho Car Seat Laws Rear-Facing
Idaho Forward Facing Car Seat Laws
The Idaho law requires children younger than six years old to use a child restraint system.
No more specific requirements on age, weight, or height on a forward-facing car seat.
However, the Idaho Transportation Department suggests that children should travel in a forward-facing car seat after the age of 2 and between 40 to 60 pounds until they reach the upper height or weight limit set by the seat manufacturer.
Most forward-facing car seats on the market come with a weight limit of 65 pounds and a height limit of 49 inches, allowing your child to stay facing forward around age 5-7.
What is The Law for Booster Seats in Idaho?
Seat Belt Laws for Child in Idaho
Once a child outgrows the booster seat, according to the Idaho Transportation Department rules, they should use a seat belt when they are at least 8 years of age and more than 4 feet 9 inches tall.
Penalty for Breaking Car Seat Laws in Idaho
Violators who do not follow the law to secure a child correctly in a restraint system will receive a fine of $80.
Idaho Car Seat Laws Apply for
The driver is responsible for the child’s safety in the car.
Commercial vehicles including taxis, and the below rules:
(a) If all of the motor vehicle’s seat belts are in use, in this case, the child shall be placed in the rear seat; or
(b) For physical other immediate physiological needs.
When can a child sit in the front seat in Idaho?
In Idaho law, there is no age limit for traveling in the front seat.
According to the Idaho Transportation Department and children safety experts’ recommendations, a child can sit in the front seat when they’re at least 13 years old.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Idaho
Taxis are exempt from Idaho law. It’s the parents’ responsibility to make sure the child’s safe in a taxicab.
Age, Weight, Height Requirements in Idaho Law
The Idaho law does not say much about the age, weight, or height requirements on the child and the car seat.
It just requires that a child age 6 years old or younger should be secured in a child safety restraint that meets the requirements of federal motor vehicle safety standards no.213.
However, the Idaho Transportation Department suggests more details on age, weight, and height requirements.
Rear-facing (stage 1): To 2 years of age
Forward-facing (stage 2): Approx. 4 years and 40-65 pounds
Booster (stage 3): Approx. 4 to at least 8 years of age, or 4’9″ or taller
Seat belt (stage 4):
Age 8 or older and at least 4’9″
Best Car Seats to Work with Idaho Laws
Rear-Facing Car Seat for Infants and Small Toddlers
More than this Doona car seat and stroller combo, there are a few excellent options available for riding infants in rear-facing. But not all will perform as well as it to allow 1-year-old infants to face the back for this long time, Chicco KeyFit 30 for example, features a low 30-lb weight limit that might not go through the first year.
Forward-Facing for Big Toddlers and Preschoolers
This convertible car seat is great enough to meet the parent’s need to ride their kids in the rear- and front-facing for a longer time. It features 50-lb rear-facing weight limit to be one of the best rear-facing car seats for 2 years old.
Booster Seats for Big Kids
Graco TurboBooster Backless Booster
The Graco TurboBooster is the most popular and best budget car seat to meet the State Law to ride older children, six or seven years old, or even bigger. While six years of age is relatively younger than other states’ eight years of age requirement, it’s sooner for Alabama children to get rid of a car seat.