What is the car seat law in Montana?
Montana Rear-Facing Car Seat Laws
Montana Forward Facing Car Seat Laws
Child Booster Seat Laws in Montana
Although Montana law requires a child restrain system to be used until age 6, it’s not aligned with the safest practices.
When a child outgrows the forward-facing car seat, they should travel in a booster seat until the age of 8 and 4’9″ in height.
Seat Belt Laws for Child in Montana
The Montana law is not clear on the requirements for a child to use a seat belt.
It’s best to stick to the booster seat until the child outgrows their booster seats or when he or she is big enough and ready to wear a seat belt like an adult.
The Montana Department of Transportation quotes the rules from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and recommends graduating the child from a booster seat to a lap and shoulder belt when they are at least 4’9” tall, which is about eight years or older.
Penalty for Breaking Car Seat Laws in Montana
Failure to properly restrain a child violates the Montana law and results in a fine of up to $100.
Montana Car Seat Laws Apply for
Drivers are responsible for keeping a child secured properly.
The rule in section 61-9-420. (1) tells an exception. If the child can not be placed in child safety restraint for a physical or medical reason, the driver shall be considered violating the rule.
When can a child sit in the front seat in Montana?
How old does a child have to be to sit in the front seat in Montana?
The law does not state the age or weight requirement for a child to sit in the front seat in Montana.
However, according to child safety experts, a child should be at least 13 years old to sit in the front seat. That’s the common age allowed to sit in the front seat in-laws of most US states.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Montana
Age, Weight, Height Requirements in Montana Law
Six years old and 60 pounds in weight are the two factors stated in Montana car seat laws. At this point, Montana is not one of those states with strict age, weight, and height requirements on child car seats.
However, it’s STRONGLY recommended to follow those suggestions and tips from the AAP and NHTSA experts to ride your child safely through four car seat stages.
- Rear-facing (stage 1): birth to 2 years or older
- Forward-facing (stage 2): 2-5 or 6 years of age
- Booster (stage 3): 4-8 years old, at least 40 pounds, under 4’9″
- Seat belt (stage 4): 8 years or older, higher than 4 feet 9 inches
Best Car Seats to Work with Montana Laws
Rear-Facing Car Seat for Infants and Small Toddlers
More than this Doona car seat and stroller combo, there are a few excellent options available for riding infants in rear-facing. But not all will perform as well as it to allow 1-year-old infants to face the back for this long time, Chicco KeyFit 30 for example, features a low 30-lb weight limit that might not go through the first year.
Forward-Facing for Big Toddlers and Preschoolers
This convertible car seat is great enough to meet the parent’s need to ride their kids in the rear- and front-facing for a longer time. It features 50-lb rear-facing weight limit to be one of the best rear-facing car seats for 2 years old.
Booster Seats for Big Kids
Graco TurboBooster Backless Booster
The Graco TurboBooster is the most popular and best budget car seat to meet the Mississippi State Law to ride older children, six or seven years old, or even bigger.