If you’re living in Nevada or taking small babies or kids to travel to this state, it’s better to know the Nevada car seat laws and requirements on how to use the child car seat correctly in this state so that not breaking the rule.
According to the Nevada State Law, all children younger than 6 years of age and weighing 60 pounds or less should be secured in a child restraint system.
What is the car seat law in Nevada?
Nevada Rear-Facing Car Seat Laws
The Nevada law doesn’t have a specific rule for the rear-facing car seat.
It just requires that a child under six years of age must ride in an appropriate child safety car seat based on the child’s size and weight.
According to the Nevada Department of Transportation, it’s recommended to use a rear-facing car seat through age 1 and until your baby reaches the highest weight or height limit set by the car seat manufacturer.
The rules in Nevada are not strict on rear-facing car seat requirements. Infant-only car seats meet and satisfy the needs of parents who are living or traveling in this State.
This type of car seat is generally designed with a rear-facing weight limit of 30-35 pounds, allowing the child to ride facing the back until 12 months or 18 months old.
Nevada Forward Facing Car Seat Laws
The same rule applies to the forward-facing car seat.
Though Nevada law does not say anything about the forward-facing car seat, it’s best to place your child facing forward after they outgrow the rear-facing car seats.
The rules in the NRS 484B.157 subsection 1 indicates that an appropriate child safety seat should be used for a child for their size and weight.
Parents should install and use the car seat in accordance with the car seat manufacturer’s instructions and regulations from National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
The forward-facing car seat with a 5-point harness is suitable for toddlers and preschoolers.
Child Booster Seat Laws in Nevada
What is the booster seat law in Nevada?
Once your child has outgrown the forward-facing car seat with a harness, use a booster seat until they are big enough for fitting seat belts.
Nevada law does not state any details on a booster seat. But most laws in other states and child safety experts recommend using a booster seat until the age of 8.
The law in section NRS 484B.157 part 1 (c) (2) also makes it clear to follow the rules of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
Seat Belt Laws for Child in Nevada
The Nevada laws do not talk about seat belt usage for a child.
After your child reaches the weight or height limit of the booster seat or when he or she is ready to wear a seat belt properly, it’s time to get them out of the booster and use the vehicle seat belt to secure a child.
How to check if the seat belt fits your child correctly?
Here are advanced tips:
- Back against the vehicle seat
- Knees bend at the edge of the seat
- Lap belt on tops of thighs, not on belly
- Shoulder belt between neck and shoulder
- Sits properly and comfortably with no slouching, no playing with a seat belt.
If you can say “yes” to all 5 checkups above, it means your child can ride safely with the seat belt.
Penalty for Breaking Car Seat Laws in Nevada
Violating the Nevada law may cause a fine between $100 to $1000, based on the times of offense.
The punishment rules are mentioned in the Nevada law section NRS 484B.157 subsection 2, based on the times violating the regulations.
- 1) For the first offense, fined no less than $100 or no more than $500; or choose to perform not less than 10 hours or no more than 50 hours of community service;
- 2) For the second offense, fined no less than 500 or no more than $1000; or perform not less than 50 hours or more than 100 hours of community service;
- 3) For the third or subsequent offense, suspend the driver’s license for not less than 30 days or more than 180 days.
The penalty is a bit heavy, especially compared to those states with a fine of around $20-$50. However, the laws in Nevada are not strict and comparatively easy to follow.
Furthermore, the little’s safety is more precious than the cost you paid for not obeying the rules.
Nevada Car Seat Laws Apply for
The drivers are responsible to ensure the child passenger’s safety in a motor vehicle.
(a) Public transportation, including a taxi, school bus, or emergency vehicle.
(b) When the child is proved not able to use a child restraint for physical or medical reasons.
When can a child sit in the front seat in Nevada?
There is no age mentioned in the Nevada law on when a child can sit in the front seat. However, the Nevada Department of Transportation says that your child should travel in the back seat until the age of 12.
It’s the safest to ride your child in the back seat. Experts also suggest that a child should be at least 13 years old to sit in the front seat.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Nevada
In Nevada, taxis are not required to follow these laws. This law can be applied to Uber, meaning the Uber drivers are not among exempts of the Nevada car seat law.
Age, Weight, Height Requirements in Nevada Law
Children who are less than 6 years of age and who weigh 60 pounds or less in a motor vehicle operated in this State should be secured in a child restraint system.
No requirements on four stages: rear-facing, forward-facing, booster, and seat belt.
Best Car Seats to Work with Nevada Laws
Rear-Facing Car Seat for Infants and Small Toddlers
More than this Doona car seat and stroller combo, there are a few excellent options available for riding infants in rear-facing. But not all will perform as well as it to allow 1-year-old infants to face the back for this long time, Chicco KeyFit 30 for example, features a low 30-lb weight limit that might not go through the first year.
Forward-Facing for Big Toddlers and Preschoolers
This convertible car seat is great enough to meet the parent’s need to ride their kids in the rear- and front-facing for a longer time. It features 50-lb rear-facing weight limit to be one of the best rear-facing car seats for 2 years old.
Booster Seats for Big Kids
Graco TurboBooster Backless Booster
The Graco TurboBooster is the most popular and best budget car seat to meet the Nevada State Law to ride older children, six or seven years old, or even bigger.